This user has not added any information to their profile yet.
Student Attendance (STS-A002)
Student Attendance The Compulsory School Attendance Law in Tennessee (TCA-49-6-3001) requires children (ages 6-17 inclusive) to attend school each day. Students who accumulate five (5) days of unexcused absences will be required to attend a conference at the school with their parent/legal guardian and may be referred to Juvenile Court according to the CMCSS Progressive Truancy Intervention Plan (STS-P010). The following are official or adequate excuses that should be turned in to the Attendance Secretary in the school office:
- Medical note (doctor, dentist, hospital, etc.) for which the student was a patient
- Court note for which the student was required to be in court
- Funeral notice (obituary/funeral program of a family member)
- Military deployment paperwork-for military dependents, TN Law (TCA 49-6-3019) allows the following for out of country deployments: (over 12 months)
- 1 excused absence when the parent leaves for deployment
- 1 excused absence when the parent returns at the end of deployment
- Up to ten (10) days excused absences when the parent is home from the deployment for Rest and Recuperation
- For deployments less than 12 months, local policy allows up to five (5) consecutive days of excused absences (either before or after the deployment) when the parent deployment is less than twelve (12) months
- Military paperwork/documentation MUST be provided to the school for these to be excused.
- Parents or legal guardians may submit notes for students to be excused up to five (5) days per school year, for any reason. To be excused, notes must be provided by the parent or legal guardian, and received by the school within five (5) school days of the absence.
Please note that Out-of-school suspensions shall be deemed unexcused absences.
If your student is New Student to CMCSS, or are transferring between CMCSS schools, start the enrollment online by visiting https://enroll.cmcss.net
To complete the enrollment process, parents need to go to their zoned school with necessary documents:
- Birth certificate
- Student's Tennessee Immunization Record- Must be the State required TN form
- Two (2) Proofs of Residence (Example: water bill, electric bill, lease agreement, etc.) Other residency information may be requested by the school.
- Additional documentation may be required or requested by the school
According to the State Department of Education, children entering Kindergarten must be five (5) years of age on or before August 15 to be able to attend Kindergarten. Tennessee State Law also requires that a student going into the first grade must show proof of attendance for a full year in an accredited kindergarten program.
Oakland uses a positive behavior matrix that promotes student awareness in expected behaviors. This matrix can be seen in every room, throughout the building, is described in our school handbook located in the front of each student's provided OWL planner, and builds off our character trait acronym (WISDOM) banners handing from our foyer ceiling. Each desired trait is broken down to identify school related desired behaviors to create student understanding and awareness of expectations. These indicators are also linked to Class Dojo, which is used not only by teachers but throughout the entire building by special area teachers, special service providers, support staff, and administrators to provide consistency for our students and with parent communication. The six overarching categories/character traits that student friendly indicators are broken down for on the visual matrix that students are taught about and expected to strive for are:
- Work Ethic
Follow the link below to view the full "Dojo and Matrix Cheat Sheet". This is designed to show the connection between the values on the matrix and the skills that are on Class Dojo.